The 2022 Sleep4Performance Seminar

20/21 June 2022

hosted by Dr Ian C Dunican

Jump to:

Session 1

Mon 20 Jun 4pm USA PDT
Mon 20 Jun 7pm USA EDT
Tue 21 Jun 12am UK BST
Tue 21 Jun 1am CEST
Tue 21 Jun 1am SAST
Tue 21 Jun 4.30am IST
Tue 21 Jun 7am AWST
Tue 21 Jun 9am AEST
Tue 21 Jun 11am NZST

DR KARI LAMBING

What is HSAT Missing? A Comparison of Respiratory Events and OSA Diagnosis

The need for having in-home sleep testing has grown due to the COVID-19 pandemic. While Type 3 Home Sleep Apnea Tests (HSAT) are frequently used, their accuracy remains questionable. This study aimed to compare respiratory events and diagnosis of obstructive sleep apnea between Type 2 and Type 3 studies. 

DR SHANE CREADO

The dangers of sleep medications

Typically, when we think about insomnia or difficulty sleeping, our first thought is Ambien or another medication. Sleep medications should never be the first choice, and are only meant to help in the short term. Insomnia is the symptom, not the cause. Treating insomnia is about treating the underlying cause. Certain sleep medications have been associated with worsening sleep apnea, restless leg syndrome, mental health problems, can be addictive and even associated with long term dementia risk! Prepare to learn about the dangers of these medications, so that we can truly address underlying factors contributing to insomnia.

JESSE COOK

Circadian Preference, Sleep Inertia, and Running Performance: A retrospective investigation of runner performance from the 2016 London Marathon

Circadian preference (CP), an individual’s judgment of their circadian rhythm, is a continuum from extreme morningness to extreme eveningness. Marathons generally have early morning start times, which may create a performance disadvantage for participants with greater eveningness preference due to circadian misalignment. Also, sleep inertia severity, defined by duration of grogginess felt post awakening, may have influence on runner performance, especially in races with early start times. The relationships between CP, SI, and marathon running performance are understudied. This investigation evaluates the relationships between CP, SI , and marathon running performance using data from the 2016 London Marathon.

DR AMY BENDER

The Impact of Time Spent Outside on ORP Sleep Quality and Cognitive Performance across 18-31 Nights of In-Home Polysomnography

Limited research has related lifestyle factors with objective measures of sleep quality and next day performance. In the current study, we investigated the relationship between time spent outdoors, objective sleep quality, and reaction time performance in a real-world environment.

DR ADAM FLETCHER

Work schedule and seasonal influences on sleep and fatigue in helicopter and fixed-wing aircraft operations in extreme environments

Sleep and fatigue were investigated in aviation search and rescue, fire fighting, emergency medical services and offshore transfer operations in 210 participants, for 21 days each, across 17 datasets in seven countries. Sleep data were collected using wrist-worn actigraphs and sleep diaries. Sustained attention was assessed using a 5-min Psychomotor Vigilance Task (PVT). Duty information was provided from corporate IT systems.

Session 2

Mon 20 Jun 9pm USA PDT
Tue 21 Jun 12am USA EDT
Tue 21 Jun 5am UK BST
Tue 21 Jun 6am CEST
Tue 21 Jun 6am SA SAST
Tue 21 Jun 9.30am IST
Tue 21 Jun 12pm AWST
Tue 21 Jun 2pm AEST
Tue 21 Jun 4pm NZST

DR CHARLOTTE GUPTA

A Time to Rest, A Time to Dine: Exploring the link between nutrition and sleep for health and performance

Cardiovascular disease poses a serious health and economic burden and is the leading cause of death globally. Two key modifiable lifestyle factors known to influence cardiovascular health are diet and sleep. However, thus far, these lifestyle factors have been investigated independently. Here, Dr Gupta introduces the field of Chrononutrition, a field targeting the timing of food behaviours to reduce the burden on our circadian system. Through a series of findings from both laboratory and field studies, Dr Gupta will argue that, as sleep and eating influence each other, and both work to influence the same cardiometabolic parameters, they must be considered together in any intervention for health and performance.

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR SEAN CAIN

Modern light and human health

The regular rise and fall of the sun resulted in the development of 24-h rhythms in virtually all organisms. With our modern control of light, humans are now exposed to light that can be detrimental to sleep and general health. Using a combination of approaches, we examined the impact of modern light behaviours on mental health, metabolic function and sleep.
We evaluated the impact of modern home lighting environments in relation to sleep and individual-level light sensitivity in 56 participants using a new wearable spectrophotometer and found that nearly half of homes had bright enough light to suppress melatonin by 50%, but with a wide range of individual responses. Light before bed had a significant impact on subsequent sleep. In the largest ever sample of objective light exposure data, we also examined day and night light exposure in >60,000 participants and found significant impacts of light on mental health, metabolism and sleep. We find that brighter days and darker nights are key for better human health, something our modern environments make challenging.

Session 3

Tue 21 Jun 1am USA PDT
Tue 21 Jun 4am USA EDT
Tue 21 Jun 9am UK BST
Tue 21 Jun 10am CEST
Tue 21 Jun 10am SA SAST
Tue 21 Jun 1.30pm IST
Tue 21 Jun 4pm AWST
Tue 21 Jun 6pm AEST
Tue 21 Jun 8pm NZST

TOMAS KLEMETS

Sleep science – applied, in practice, to the airline crew scheduling process

This presentation aims to convey how sleep science practically is applied to the, fairly complex and time-critical, planning process of airline crew – with an aim of reducing fatigue risk and mental health issues in an inclusive way which allow crew to influence their work content to fit their personal life situation.

DR JEN WALSH

Treating Insomnia Symptoms with Medicinal Cannabis: A Randomized, Cross-Over Trial of the Efficacy of a Cannabinoid Medicine Compared with Placebo

This randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, cross-over study was conducted to evaluate the safety and efficacy of two-weeks of nightly sublingual cannabinoid extract (ZTL-101) in treating chronic insomnia (symptoms ≥three months).

DEAN MILLER

Running on empty: Self-reported sleep/wake behaviour during ultra-marathon events exceeding 100 miles

The aim of this study was to examine sleep/wake behaviour and sleep strategies before, during and after ultra-marathon events exceeding 100 miles (161 km) in distance. A total of 119 athletes completed a web-based questionnaire regarding their habitual sleep/wake behaviour before, during and after ultra-marathon participation.

DR MADELINE SPRAJCER

How effective are Fatigue Risk Management Systems (FRMS)?

Fatigue Risk Management Systems (FRMS) are a data-driven set of management practices for identifying and managing fatigue-related safety risks. This approach also considers sleep and work time, and is based on ongoing risk assessment and monitoring. This narrative review addresses the effectiveness of FRMS, as well as barriers and enablers in the implementation of FRMS. Furthermore, this review draws on the literature to provide evidence-based policy guidance regarding FRMS implementation.

JYOTI TIWARI

During migration, Sleep loss triggers the inflammatory cytokines in migratory buntings

Life on earth experiences cyclical changes of light and dark period. Living organisms have their own endogenous circadian rhythms, with a period of approximately 24 hours. Interestingly, the sleep-wake cycle and immune system comes under circadian control. A vast array of the literature suggests that there is a cross-talk between sleep and the immune system, which is a complex set of physiological mechanisms. Here, we investigated the effect of sleep loss on immune system in migratory male redheaded buntings.

Session 4

Tue 21 Jun 4am USA PDT
Tue 21 Jun 7am USA EDT
Tue 21 Jun 12pm UK BST
Tue 21 Jun 1pm CEST
Tue 21 Jun 1pm SA SAST
Tue 21 Jun 4.30pm IST
Tue 21 Jun 7pm AWST
Tue 21 Jun 9pm AEST
Tue 21 Jun 11pm NZST

ASHLEY MONTERO

Sleep and Mental Health Issues in Current and Former Athletes: A Mini Review

Sleep and mental health are important aspects of human health that work concurrently. However, sleep and mental health disorders are often overlooked and undiagnosed in sport due to the negative stigma associated with them. Evidence suggests that athletes are disproportionately affected by mental health issues and sleep problems. Internal and external pressures contribute to psychological distress. Variable competition times, travel and stress are detrimental to sleep quality. Retirement from sport can deteriorate sleep and psychological wellbeing, particularly for those who retired involuntarily and identify strongly with their athletic role. When untreated, these issues can manifest into a range of clinical disorders.

DR SPENCER ROBERTS

Understanding the sleep of ultra-marathon swimmers: Guidance for coaches and swimmers

Open water swimming ultra-marathon events ≥10 km have become increasingly popular amongst master athletes. However, very little is known about the timing of training sessions and the impact on sleep. This study aimed to examine sleep behaviours, sleep problems and disorders and the relationship with training timings.

DANIEL BONNAR

Evaluation of a brief sleep intervention designed to improve the sleep, mood, and cognitive performance of esports athletes

This study evaluated a brief sleep intervention designed to improve the sleep, mood, and cognitive performance of professional electronic sports (esports) athletes from three major esports regions (i.e., Asia, North America, and Oceania).

DR NICOLA BARCLAY

Sex Differences in Symptomology and Aetiology of Insomnia and Related Sleep Phenotypes Across the Lifespan, Drawing on Behavioural Genetic Research

Insomnia is common in the general population, but has a greater prevalence in females. Sex differences in insomnia typically emerge during adolescence, and insomnia symptoms steadily increase in women across the lifespan. Difficulties with sleep particularly arise during the peri-menopause and post-menopause. These time points suggest that the sex difference in sleep may be mediated by changes in reproductive hormones across the lifespan. However, there are other possible explanations for the female preponderance to insomnia, and these hypotheses largely centre on biological/ hormonal explanations related to the menstrual cycle, genetic and environmental or sociological explanations.

Leslie Cervantes

The Impact of Evening Caffeine Timing on Evening Alertness, Odds Ratio Product, and Subjective Sleep across 18-31 nights of In-Home Polysomnography
There is a paucity of research on lifestyle factors affecting sleep quality using objective polysomnographic data under real-world conditions. In the present study, we assessed the relationships between caffeine timing and the impact on evening alertness, objective sleep quality, and morning self-reported sleep quality.

Stay up to date with our latest podcasts & releases.

Subscribe

Follow

Share

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Email